RCW 36.57.030 Membership—Compensation. Every county which undertakes the transportation function pursuant to RCW 36.57.020 shall create by resolution of the county legislative body a county transportation authority which shall be composed as follows:

(1) The elected officials of the county legislative body, not to exceed three such elected officials;

(2) The mayor of the most populous city within the county;

(3) The mayor of a city with a population less than five thousand, to be selected by the mayors of all such cities within the county;

(4) The mayor of a city with a population greater than five thousand, excluding the most populous city, to be selected by the mayors of all such cities within the county: PROVIDED, HOWEVER, That if there is no city with a population greater than five thousand, excluding the most populous city, then the sixth member who shall be an elected official, shall be selected by the other two mayors selected pursuant to subsections (2) and (3) of this section; and

(5) An individual recommended by the labor organization representing the public transportation employees within the county transportation authority. If the public transportation employees are represented by more than one labor organization, all such labor organizations shall select the nonvoting member by majority vote. The nonvoting member shall comply with all governing bylaws and policies of the authority. The chair or cochairs of the county transportation authority shall exclude the nonvoting member from attending any executive session held for the purpose of discussing negotiations with labor organizations. The chair or cochairs may exclude the nonvoting member from attending any other executive session.

The members of the authority shall be selected within sixty days after the date of the resolution creating such authority.

Any member of the authority who is a mayor or an elected official selected pursuant to subsection (4) of this section and whose office is not a full time position shall receive one hundred dollars for each day attending official meetings of the authority. [2010 c 278 s 2; 1974 ex.s. c 167 s 3.]