- RCW 15.115.040 Washington grain commission—Created—Members—Term of office. (1) There is hereby created the Washington grain commission. The commission is composed of five wheat producer members, two barley producer members, two members representing the wheat industry, one member representing the barley industry, and the director or his or her appointee. All members, including the director or his or her appointee, are full voting members of the commission.
- (2) (a) Each wheat producer member of the commission must be a resident of Washington state, over the age of eighteen years at the time of appointment, and a producer of wheat in the district in and for which he or she is nominated and appointed. A wheat producer member must continue to satisfy these qualifications during his or her term of office.
- (b) For the nomination and appointment of wheat producer members, the affected area is divided into districts as follows:
- (i) District I: Ferry, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, and Stevens counties;
 - (ii) District II: Whitman county;
- (iii) District III: Asotin, Columbia, Garfield, and Walla Walla counties;
- (iv) District IV: Adams, Chelan, Douglas, Grant, and Okanogan counties; and
- (v) District V: Benton, Franklin, Kittitas, Klickitat, and Yakima counties.
- (c) The wheat producers in each district are entitled to elect one wheat producer member of the commission.
- (3) (a) Each barley producer member of the commission must be a resident of Washington state, over the age of eighteen years at the time of appointment, and a producer of barley in the district in and for which he or she is nominated and appointed. A barley producer member must continue to satisfy these qualifications during his or her term of office.
- (b) For the nomination and appointment of barley producer members, the affected area is divided into districts as follows:
- (i) District VI: Asotin, Benton, Columbia, Franklin, Garfield, Klickitat, Walla Walla, Whitman, and Yakima counties; and
- (ii) District VII: Adams, Chelan, Douglas, Ferry, Grant, Kittitas, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, and Stevens counties.
- (c) The barley producers in each district are entitled to elect one barley producer member of the commission.
- (4) An industry member of the commission need not be a resident of Washington state, but must be involved with the handling, marketing, transportation, processing of, or research regarding wheat or barley produced in Washington state. An industry representative member must continue to satisfy these qualifications during his or her term of office.
- (5) (a) The regular term of office of each producer member of the commission is three years from January 1st following his or her first appointment by the director and continues until a successor is appointed. The term of office for producer positions representing districts I, IV, and VII is from January 1, 2011, to December 31, 2014, and for three-year terms thereafter. The term of office for producer positions representing districts II, III, V, and VI is from January 1, 2012, to December 31, 2015, and for three-year terms thereafter.

- (b) The regular term of office of each industry representative member of the commission is three years from January 1st following his or her appointment by the director and until a successor is appointed. The term of office for the barley industry representative position is from January 1, 2011, to December 31, 2014, and for three-year terms thereafter. The term of office for the wheat industry representative (position 1) is from January 1, 2011, to December 31, 2014, and for three-year terms thereafter. The term of office for the wheat industry representative (position 2) is from January 1, 2012, to December 31, 2015, and for three-year terms thereafter.
- (c) The director, or his or her appointee, is a permanent member of the commission. [2009 c 33 s 4.]